Home / News / 2018 IND Vs WI ODI Series: An Opening opportunity for Prithvi Shaw with Rohit Sharma?

2018 IND Vs WI ODI Series: An Opening opportunity for Prithvi Shaw with Rohit Sharma?

Prithvi Shaw, who is making a hundred in Test debut, will be promoting soon. He impressed everyone with his bat in the Test series against the West Indies. He was also honored with the Man of the Series. India easily pocketed the series 2-0.

On 21st October, India vs West Indies ODI series will start. Although Prithvi Shaw has not got the opportunity in the Indian team for the first two ODI matches of this series, it can be included in the remaining three games. If that happens, then he can open with vice-captain Rohit Sharma.

According to a newspaper report from an English newspaper, captain Virat Kohli, chief coach Ravi Shastri, Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane held a meeting. Considering the importance of next year’s World Cup, it has been decided to continue making changes in the team.

“The players will be rotated by placing the World Cup in front of the team. The purpose behind this is to provide adequate comfort to important players. Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Mohammed Shami are being brought inside-out the team. These players are important for all three formats of cricket. This rotation policy will be maintained even further, “the source said.

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan are the opening pairs in the Indian ODI squad. However, there is a possibility of a change. So Prithvi Shaw can get a chance for the remaining three ODIs against the West Indies. Shaw has scored 938 runs in 22 List A matches at an average of 42.33. He has 5 half-centuries and 3 hundred in the domestic ODI matches. On India A tour of England, he scored 353 runs in ODIs at an average of 58.33.

India Squad/Team for first 2 ODI Matches against West Indies:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav

About Sagar Kanherkar

Sagar is a passionate former cricketer. He works as a Cricket Analyst for more than 3 years. Due to his in-depth knowledge and dedication to readers, his work has been featured in top publications. Combined, his high-level education from one of the country’s most reputable university and expertise in his field allows him to write unique and impelling news articles.

Check Also

IPL 2020 Schedule amd Venue

IPL 2020 Schedule with Venue Download PDF

IPL 2020 Schedule with Venue Download PDF, IPL timetable 2020 is put here. IPL 2020 set to starts on March 23rd with the final closing match on May 12th, 2020. ...