Home / News / PSL 4 Teams, Squad, News, Draft, PSL 2019 New Update, New Players, Complete list of Retain Players

PSL 4 Teams, Squad, News, Draft, PSL 2019 New Update, New Players, Complete list of Retain Players

A player draft for the 4th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) was held in Islamabad on Tuesday, November 21. Pakistan Super League (PSL 4) begins from February 14. With more than 650 players in the draft, the six franchises were allowed to pick up to 20 players in their squads. Every team could have three platinum, three diamond, three gold, five silver, two emerging and four supplementary picks.

This year, teams were permitted to retain up to 10 players paying little mind to the categories. The equation for the picks was the same as the last year which was in the inverted order of the last edition’s position. In this way, Lahore Qalandars had got a chance to pick first in every round followed by the 6th Team. Islamabad United, the winner of the 2018 edition, had the last pick. However, teams had exchanged their players during the retention window which finished up a week ago.

PSL 4 Round:

Platinum Round:

Lahore Qalandars commenced the player draft by grabbing up AB de Villiers. They retained Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Hafeez in the platinum category.

Quetta Gladiators picked Dwayne Bravo and also retained players like captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Sunil Narine, who they traded with Lahore Qalandars for Hassan Khan.

Shoaib Malik, the captain of The 6th Team, was joined by Steve Smith and Shahid Afridi.

Peshawar Zalmi had retained pacers Hasan Ali and Wahab Riaz in this category also filled up the final spot with Keiron Pollard.

Both Islamabad United and Karachi Kings didn’t get a player as they had retained all three players in this category.

Diamond Round:

Lahore Qalandars kept on bagging big names. Their two picks in this round were Corey Anderson and Carlos Brathwaite. They retained Yasir Shah in the category. The 6th Team, having Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, and Joe Denly.

Like the development of the round, Peshawar Zalmi picked former Islamabad United captain Misbah-ul-Haq, who had led his former franchise to two titles.

Islamabad United picked Ian Bell who joined with Asif Ali and Mohammad Sami in the diamond category.

Quetta Gladiators and Karachi Kings again did not have a pick here as they had all three players from the retention window.

Gold Round:

Lahore Qalandars picked Nepal’s 18-year-old leg-break bowler Sandeep Lamichhane who was a part of Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League.

Following, The 6th team, picked up 18-year-old legspinner Qais Ahmed, who hails from Nangarhar, Afghanistan. They filled the final spot with Nicholas Pooran with Shan Masood who already retained in the gold category.

Quetta Gladiators picked Fawad Ahmed and Karachi Kings bagged Sikandar Raza. Peshawar Zalmi, the winners of the 2nd edition, picked up Dawid Malan and Umer Amin. Islamabad United picked up Samit Patel. They also picked Philip Salt, who scored 611 runs in his T20 career with 156 strike rate.

Silver Round:

In this round, Islamabad United picking Cameron Delport, Mohammad Asghar taken by Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi goes with former Multan Sultans batsman Sohaib Maqsood, Karachi Kings picked up Usama Mir, and star performer wicketkeeper-batsman Jamal Anwar bagged by Peshawar Zalmi.

Supplementary Round:

The supplementary round which provides four picks to the franchises to have backup players. The Quetta Gladiators picked up Ahmed Shehzad.

Peshawar Zalmi picked up Chris Jordan and young legspinner Ibtisam Sheikh. Both were part of Zalmi’s line-up in the last edition.

PSL 4 Squad, Teams:

Quetta Gladiators:

Platinum – Sarfraz Ahmed, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine

Diamond – Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Shane Watson

Gold – Umar Akmal, Fawad Ahmed, Rilee Rossouw

Silver – Mohammad Asghar, Anwar Ali, Saud Shakil, Danish Aziz, Ahsan Ali

Emerging – Nasim Shah, Ghulam Mudassar

Supplementary – Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Azam Khan, Jalat Khan, Harry Gurney

Islamabad United:

Platinum – Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Luke Ronchi

Diamond – Asif Ali, Mohammad Sami, Ian Bell

Gold – Samit Patel, Rumman Raees, Philip Salt

Silver – Zafar Gohar, Waqas Maqsood, Hussain Talat, Sahibzada Farhan, Cameron Delport

Emerging – Nasir Nawaz, Musa Khan

Supplementary – Zahir Khan, Amad Butt, Rizwan Hussain, Wayne Parnell

Peshawar Zalmi:

Platinum – Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Keiron Pollard

Diamond – Misbah ul Haq, Kamran Akmal, Darren Sammy

Gold – Umer Amin, Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan

Silver – Sohaib Maqsood, Jamal Anwar, Umaid Asif, Khalid Usman, Wayne Madsen

Emerging – Nabi Gul, Sameen Gul

Supplementary – Ibtisam Sheikh, Samiullah, Waqar Salamkheil, Chris Jordan

Karachi Kings:

Platinum – Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Colin Munro

Diamond – Imad Wasim, Usman Khan Shinwari, Colin Ingram

Gold – Mohammad Rizwan, Sikandar Raza, Ravi Bopara

Silver – Usama Mir, Sohail Khan, Awais Zia, Aaron Summers, Iftikhar Ahmad

Emerging – Abrar Ahmed, Ali Imran

Supplementary – Jaahid Ali, Aamer Yamin, Ben Dunk, Liam Livingstone

Lahore Qalandars:

Platinum – Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, AB de Villiers

Diamond – Yasir Shah, Corey Anderson, Carlos Brathwaite

Gold – Rahat Ali, Sandeep Lamichhane, Anton Devcich

Silver – Agha Salman, Sohail Akhtar, Shaheen Afridi, Hassan Khan, Haris Sohail

Emerging – Umair Maqsood, Mohammad Imran

Supplementary – Aizaz Cheema, Gauhar Ali, Harris Rauf, Brendon Taylor

The Sixth Team:

Platinum – Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Steve Smith

Diamond – Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Joe Denly

Gold – Qais Ahmed, Shan Masood, Nicholas Pooran

Silver – Umar Siddiq, Laurie Evans, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Nauman Ali

Emerging – Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Junaid

Supplementary – Ali Shafiq, Shakeel Ansar, Dan Christian, Tom Moores

About Sagar Kanherkar

Sagar is a passionate former cricketer. He works as a Cricket Analyst for more than 3 years. Due to his in-depth knowledge and dedication to readers, his work has been featured in top publications. Combined, his high-level education from one of the country’s most reputable university and expertise in his field allows him to write unique and impelling news articles.

Check Also

IPL 2020 Schedule amd Venue

IPL 2020 Schedule with Venue Download PDF

IPL 2020 Schedule with Venue Download PDF, IPL timetable 2020 is put here. IPL 2020 set to starts on March 23rd with the final closing match on May 12th, 2020. ...