Home / News / IND vs AUS 4th Test: India’s Historic Win Over Australia by 2-1

IND vs AUS 4th Test: India’s Historic Win Over Australia by 2-1

Under the Captaincy of Virat Kohli, India first time defeat Australia on their home ground. The Indian team forced Australia to lose in the Test series.

Because of the Fifth day waste due to rain, the fourth Test was drawn and India won the series by a margin of 2-1. After playing 72 years and 11 Test series against Australia in Australia, it was the first time that India won the series in Australia.

The Indian team had taken lead in the series after winning the Adelaide and Melbourne Test. In the Sydney Test, India scored 622 runs in the first innings. Cheteshwar Pujara (193) and Rishabh Pant (159*), India declared their first innings at 622 for 6.

Aussies did not have a quality game. Their first innings collapsed on 300 runs. Kuldeep Yadav took five wickets. India gave follow-on to Australia and conceded series victory over Australia. The game stopped on the fourth day without being a loss for 6. The game did not play due to rain on Monday.

It was India’s 12th Test Series on Australian soil. In the last 11 Tests Series, India had to defeat 8 times, while 3 was tied. India has become the fifth team to win the series against Australia in Australia. Earlier this feat was done by England, West Indies, New Zealand and South Africa.

England won 14 of the 42 test series in Australia. New Zealand won 1 of 12 series, while South Africa won 3 of 11 series. The West Indies also won 4 of the 15 Test series.


Series wins in ‘SENA’ countries for India:

3-1 in NZ, 1967/68
1-0 in Eng, 1971
2-0 in Eng, 1986
1-0 in Eng, 2007
1-0 in NZ, 2008/09
2-1 in Aus, 2018/19

About Sagar Kanherkar

Sagar is a passionate former cricketer. He works as a Cricket Analyst for more than 3 years. Due to his in-depth knowledge and dedication to readers, his work has been featured in top publications. Combined, his high-level education from one of the countryโ€™s most reputable university and expertise in his field allows him to write unique and impelling news articles.

Check Also

IPL 2020 Schedule amd Venue

IPL 2020 Schedule with Venue Download PDF

IPL 2020 Schedule with Venue Download PDF, IPL timetable 2020 is put here. IPL 2020 set to starts on March 23rd with the final closing match on May 12th, 2020. ...